SOS Steel Co., Inc. was founded in 1946 by John Somers, Henry O’Rear and Paul Stephan. The company was originally located on Montgomery Street in San Jose, but moved to the present location in 1955. All three founders remained active in the company until 1990 when employees purchased the company.
The current facility is located at 1160 Richard Avenue with easy access to Highways 101, 880 and 280. The shop and yard are serviced by one 10 ton and two 5 ton overhead cranes with access from either Richard Avenue or Memorex Drive.
SOS Steel maintains a full staff of estimators, project managers and detailers who have over 150 years combined experience in the fabrication and erection field. The shop at SOS Steel is affiliated with the Boilermakers Union Local 549 and field crews are employed by Field Ironworkers from Local 377.